Posted by: power09er | October 12, 2009

The Fireplace…

For at least the past few months I have been itching to paint or do something to fireplace since we moved in.  It was a deep red that just sucked all the light from the living room and the front entry hall, besides being completely outdated.  So last weekend I decided with the cold weather I would start painting.  Luckily the process for painting fireplaces isn’t what it used to be.  Online it said I would need to sand the brick, wash it, prime it then paint it.  Not anymore.

All I had to do was prime it then I am doing coats of a paint, called Cottage White.  It is more of a very light cream compared to a bright white.  I am so excited to finish the last coat tomorrow and pull the tape off, touch up the surrounding walls and then try and maybe spray paint the gold cover a silver, though when I return the extra gallon of primer, I may get black instead.

Here is the progress I have made on the fireplace so far.

Responses

  1. Looks great! I vote black, but either will look great! Aren’t house projects fun!

  2. I love what it is doing for the house, making such a huge difference just for the cost of paint and primer. I am excited to pull the tape off and see what it looks like. Hmmmm drywall the basement next? 🙂

  3. Looks good already!! I think you mentioned doing some painting last night …..was that the project?


Leave a Reply

Categories

