Posted by: power09er | February 8, 2010

Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day has never been a big thing for Trav and I.  Trav pretty much hates Valentine’s Day but has always tried to make it nice for me.  BUT last year when we got married I decided we would forever ignore Valentine’s Day, well I will reinstate it when we have kids but do it only for the kids, and instead we celebrate our anniversary, which is the week later, and that is WAY more important to me.

I am so excited for our weekend away at The Stanley Hotel in Estes Park.  For those that don’t know, Stephen King was inspired to write The Shining during one of his many stays at the hotel.  Many of his early works are based on Colorado towns, filed and written here and I love finding out more and more.  The Shining is probably his most famous, and also was filmed at Timberline Lodge (the exterior shots), The Stand is another and Misery.  Also I just found out Stephen King lived in Boulder for a year as well. I love going out and exploring all these new and fun places in Colorado, there are just so many.  Maybe next time someone comes to visit we can go up to the actual South Park, haha, maybe see Stan, Kyle, Cartman and Eric.  🙂

Trav and I are getting a doggy sitter for Kaiser, well our friend Colin has said he will watch Kaiser.  We are going ot stay two nights, take the history and ghost tour, get a couples massage and do a nice dinner.  I am so excited!!!  This will be way better than a normal Valentine’s Day.  And you bet I am going to take a ton of pictures!  I hope we have snow, so we can sit in the lobby by a fire, enjoy a sunset and just stare out at the Rocky Mountains.

Well now that I am listening to my favorite band Lifehouse and my new favorite Matt Nathanson it is time to call it a night.

Oh and if you want to have some fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

